A project begins…

Over the past 3 – 4 years, with increasingly less money and equally more desire, I have engaged in trying to create alcohol.

I enjoy a drink, I enjoy free things and most of all I love a bit of DIY (and I mean actual DIY, not the flat-pack business you lot get up to).

In year one, a close friend and myself raided a local framer’s apple tree, our object of desire was scrumpy… after much struggling and pressing of apples; by hand mind; we ended up with a slurry of appley sludge. A requisitioned beer keg gave us a cheap fermentation chamber, and an outhouse gave us the place to store it.

The results… I’m not going to lie, weren’t brilliant.

three months later I opened said keg, to be met with a rotten apple slurry… spelt strongly of vinegar, and tasted of death.

Fast forward to last November I thought I’d try my hand at some more homebrew.  a stack of Ginger root, a handful of chillies… I have made some fabulous alcohol. On the strength of the fabulous alcohol I have just made, I’m doing it again.

The Challenge: To create fabulous alcohol with as little means as possible. Each project should cost no more than £10, and should be potent and drinkable enough that I should want for nothing else.

The Reward: Cheap, Wonderful Booze, steeped in the ethical victory of foraging and re-cycling!!

About Clean Cut Xombee

Intentionally blank.
This entry was posted in A Project Begins... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A project begins…

  1. This is an excellent site, I will be sure to add your blog to my bookmarks :
    D

Leave a comment